BLOG

Indifference Of Missing Out ?

09/sep/2024

I was watching Linkin Park comeback show and a thought came to my mind: I believe that the show was performed live on Sep 5th and, although I consider myself a huge LP fan, it wasn't until today that I watched it. And boy it is good. But why did I take so long to watch it, even though it is something that I love?

It is not the first time that something (an album, a show, a movie, etc.) from someone that I really like comes out but I'm not immediately attracted to it. I believe that the last time it happened was on TLOU 2 launch. My favorite artists released albums recently and I didn't rush to listen. I still didn't finish Billie's last album and it was released in march.

I don't really know if we just tend to lose the hype from things like these (keep in mind that this is my first time living) or if this is just another side effect of the destructive nature of the algorithms and the humongous amount of content that we are force-fed every time we lit up any screen. Every time I think about the sad reality that today's internet came to have, I dislike it a little more. It's very very sad. I miss SMS. It's not FOMO it's just like "why am I not counting the seconds to this new release". Or maybe it's the same amount of information that's making me think this way? I dunno.

I'll be paying more attention on future occasions that this applies to. Anyway, fuck social media algorithms.